INTERNATIONAL BLOG TOUR: Tell Me Three Thing by Julie Buxbaum

1).jpg

TITLE: Tell Me Three Things

AUTHOR: Julie Buxbaum

GENRE: Young Adult, Contemporary

FORMAT: Paperback-ARC

PAGES: 336

ISBN: 9780399552939

PUBLISHED: April 5, 2016

PUBLISHER: Delacorte Press

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads | Fullybooked

Untitled1.jpg

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel filled with characters who will come to feel like friends.

Untitled2

*I received a physical ARC from Penguin Random house in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review. All my opinion.*

To be honest, this book was so good that I still can’t settle my emotions but I need to post a review. I’m not even sure if I’m doing this right or not but here we gooo.

Three things why I joined the international blog tour and read this:
1. WAFFLES
*drools* What caught my eye was the cover. THE LOVELY COVER. How the waffles, the “three things”, and the written words are all connected to the book was simply perfect! You can clearly uncover how it is connected as you read and read. And if you start reading Tell Me Three Things, DON’T STOP!
2. S/N
I haven’t read any books that has a “receives anonymous emails” kind of vibe and good thing that this book made a great job.
3.THE HYPE
My mind was still debating if I really should read this but so far this book have really good reviews so why not? There’s no harm in trying.

The idea of having an anonymous internet friend was bravo*claps slowly*. In Tell Me Three Things, it shows how having an internet friend really means to someone. The development and how they rely with each other as their relationship goes deeper. Our parents taught us to be careful and not to talk strangers but they didn’t know that maybe that stranger can be our closest friend and that he/she can mean something to us. Imagine you’re in Jessie’s situation, how she’s having a hard time coping with her “new” life but then she receives an anonymous email from Somebody/Nobody offering a help. Would you accept it? For me, I would. These days even if you have someone to talk to in personal you don’t even know that they’re backstabbing you.

SN: you know that piece of hair that always falls into your eyes-the not-quite-a-bang piece? I want to be able to tuck it behind your ear. I want to be able to do that. I want to meet you when I feel comfortable enough with you to do that.

Flipping the page, I started reading the Dear Reader and it was just so inspiring and emotional. See, Jessie and Julie has a bit of similarity, they both loss their mother. I can really understand and feel how Julie wrote the dialogues and sentences. The writing style was just so good. I feel connected to the characters especially Jessie. I was irritated at some of her actions. I mean it’s clearly understandable because of her situation but when she did’t talked to her Dad I just know that it was’t right.I also adore Jessie’s stepbrother-Theo. At first, he really acted like a jerk. Gladly, there was a character and relationship development.Each of them made a really great role and impact.

“Really?” Theo says, and at first I think he’s talking to me, and I feel so alone that I may actually cry, right here, right now. Finally give the people what they want. “Touch Jessie again, and I swear to God, I will ruin you.

I was smiling ear to ear the moment I flipped the very last page of Tell Me Three Things. My mother even scolded me because I was making a noise. There was just too many feels to handle. I wanna shout, roll, jump, cry, throw things and whatsoever because IT WAS JUST SO GOOD. I just want to read this again and again.

giphy.gif

THE KINDA MEH:
While looking at the cover, I was so confident that this will be a 5 star. The reason why it was a 4.5 star was how predictable who Somebody Nobody is. Even if I wasn’t halfway reading the book and the moment he appeared I know who S/N is, and maybe you too if you’re gonna read this. Although, there was a little twist in the end that will make you think again if you made a wrong or right decision of who Somebody Nobody really is.

Overall, it was such a cute, funny, and too-many-feels story. Looking forward to reading more books by Julie Buxbaum in the future.

.

Untitled3.jpg

 

a.jpg

 

 

ricah

Leave a Reply

