CRYSTALLUM (THE PRIMORDIAL PRINCIPLES#1) BY LANEY MCMANN

 

NOTE: Sorry for not posting for 2 weeks? We don’t have an internet connection for 4 days and it sucks. Really sucks. I haven’t even posted my December and January Book Haul/Wrap up. Idk if I can post it next week? But I’ll try.

 

Crystallum

TITLE: Crystallum

AUTHOR: Laney McMann

GENRE: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

FORMAT: epub

PAGES: 336 pages

ISBN: 1513700138

ISBN13: 9781513700137

PUBLISHED: October 26, 2015

PUBLISHER: Booktrope Editions

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

Untitled1

Kadence Sparrow wasn’t born a devil’s child-she was turned into one. Now, she’s hiding from the truth, and running for her life.

For years, Kade’s true nature has lurked behind an illusion, so when her dad gets another job transfer, she knows the drill: no close friends, no boyfriends, and most importantly: don’t expose what she is. Ever. Keeping secrets is easy. Lies are second nature. So is the loneliness-and the fear, but when the Shadows attack, and Kade meets Cole Spires, she could expose everything she’s trying to hide.

As one of the Celestial Children, Cole lives by an oath: defend the Ward, protect the Primordial race, guard the gateways, and stick to his own. Everything else is a distraction, and besides, he’s lost enough. Cole’s job is clear, and no one his age does it better. So, when he meets Kade in a club downtown, he assumes she just wants his attention. Most girls do, but Cole soon realizes … Kade isn’t like most girls.

The children of heaven and hell are living among us, fighting an age-old war. And falling for someone from the opposition is not an option. But a chance encounter between Kade and Cole will blur the rules, as Kade’s journey to keep her truth hidden catapults them together and into a web of lies, forcing her to not only face the demon inside her, but to answer the hardest question of all.

Which is thicker-blood or water?

BLOG DIVIDER

Untitled

*I received an ebook copy from xpressobooktours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review.*

A short summary for all of you. Girl transfers to another place then goes to a bar with her new friends, accidentally meet this hot guy, can’t forget about him, something happens to the girl, boy came to the rescue.

Filios Daemoneum. Et Mortali Spiram. Shadows.Primordial.
YES, these words were highlighted and added some notes. The first 100 pages was soooo confusing. Chapter by chapter, I was like a lost puppy. I love learning new terms but I was hella confused for half of the book. HALF OF THE BOOK. But then the other half of the book was full of too many informations. You know that moment when you just stop reading and stare to a wall, waiting to sink everything you learned? This is what I felt while reading this. I was confused from the beginning to the very last page. I keep repeating the words and the paragraphs. Until now, I can’t fully understand what just happened. For me, it was not explained well.

Insta-love. Although I hate Insta-love, I was really smiling ear to ear with their cheesy lines. 80% smiling and supporting their relationship and 20% annoyed.

“Well, it is. I look at you and I look at me, and…”Her cheeks heated and she glanced backed out the window.

“What?”
“It’s nothing. Stupid.” Kade shook her head.
“What is it?”
“When I’m around you.” She chanced a glance at him. “I want to stay near you,” she said under her breath. “I want you to stay near me.”

giphy

Cole is the Young Primori Alpha of the Brotherhood Warden and Danny is the young Primori Beta of the same ward. Cole is so easy to like. How he makes witty, funny and sarcastic comments. Especially Danny.

“I guess we can officially confirm that Filios Daemoneum have been here.”
“Devil’s Children, Cole.” Danny directed the faint light of his crystal telum toward a balcony in the dilapidated building. “Say Devil’s Children. No one cares that you speak Latin.” He took off toward the balcony.

Is it okay that I really like their cheesy line but not Kade? Here I go again, hating the female protagonist *sighs*. If you’ve been reading my reviews for a while now, you know that I’m always annoyed with the female protagonists.

He rubbed his forehead and said,” Please be careful on the stairs,” and headed toward the door leading to the first floor. “I can’t watch you like a hawk, you know?” His hand hovered over the doorknob, eyes downcast. “Vos exterruerat me,” he said so low and soft, she barely heard him.

Oh, great. So is falling down the stairs the new technique so the hot boy in school will notice you? Or your just really clumsy because this happens to you all the time?

From the very beginning I know that this book will remind me of City of Bones and I was right. “Demons” are always mentioned in the book and I can’t stop thinking: “This is soooo TMI.” ” They also kill demons like TMI?” “Ohhh they also protect the world? Sound familiar.”” I CAN’T stop comparing it to The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare even if I only read the first book which is City of Bones and love it. The only difference is that they use crystals and not stele.

The not oh-shocking-revelation. It was all so obvious.
ME WHILE READING: *fake gasps* Oh my god. *fake gasps* Seriously?! *fake gasps* what?!

giphy (1).gif

It involves some cool aspects like how Primori’s can change to a hawk and also the action scenes! It was detailed which I really like. The world building or setting was also fantastic. Overall, I enjoyed if it didn’t surpass my expectations. Might read the next book in the series.

Untitled3

b.jpg

Untitled5

6563682

I write young adult dark urban fantasy mixed with a spike of paranormal romance, a touch of history, and a dash of mythology. I’m a dreamer, an over thinker, and a myths and legends believer. Nothing moves me more than writing fantastical stories. And reading them.

I am the author of:

The Fire Born Novels, TIED, TORN & TRUE

The Primordial Principles, CRYSTALLUM, book 1, November 2015

ricah

Leave a Reply

