BOOK REVIEW: THE TRUTH SPELL (WEREWOLF HIGH #1) BY ANITA OH

27797358.jpg

TITLE: The Truth Spell (Werewolf High #1)

AUTHOR: Anita Oh

GENRE: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

FORMAT: epub-ARC

PAGES: 142 pages

ASIN: B018CLWMF4

PUBLISHED(kindle edition): November 21, 2015

Amazon | Goodreads

Untitled1

As soon as I stepped onto the grounds of Amaris High, I knew I’d made a big mistake. I could never fit in at such a snobbish school – I was more IT girl than “it girl”. But then I saw him.

Sam Spencer. My childhood best friend. But it couldn’t be. Sam Spencer had died three years ago, on the night that changed everything. I need to know what happened, why he’s suddenly not dead and is hanging out with a bunch of rich kids.

When the school is hit by a truth spell, it seems like the perfect chance to find out what Sam and his creepy new friends are hiding, but the weirder things get, the less I’m sure I want to know. Even for Sam, even for the free food, Amaris High might be more trouble than it’s worth.

Untitled2

YA Bound Book Tours

*I received an ebook copy from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review.*

Lucy O’ Connor is a scholar student of this prestigious school. Her roommate Hannah Morgan welcomes her and told her things that she needs to know about this school. The school is divided with 2 groups/ divisions or whatever you want to name and it’s the Red and Green. Red is the basic package-basic foods, dorms, and services. Green is the so called “better package”-better services, dorms and etc. BUT we also have the Gold, who is the most popular in this school and basically owns the continents. When the Golds made an entrance with a helicopter, she saw Sam. Sam is her childhood bestfriend and she was shocked because all this time she thought that he was dead.

IT’S A WEREWOLF BOOK. OF COURSE I CAN’T STOP THINKING ABOUT TEEN WOLF but this book was so different f in many ways. The Truth Spell was fast paced and an enjoyable read. It was an “easy-to-read” kind of book. In fact, this is the first book that I read in one sitting and it was worth it.

The plot was so simple, plain and ordinary. First day of school, protagonist get’s bullied, noticed with the popular squad, then her world turned upside down-well not really. Just a bit. While reading this book, I can’t stop wondering how this book is in the Young Adult shelf. It feels like a middle grade book to me. No plot twists nor revelations. I expected this book to be mind blowing, but it wasn’t. It was also unbelievable. I know ya’ll gonna say “Say what? This is a fantasy book Ricah so why is it unbelievable? Anything can happen.” *snorts* Let me explain you this way, If your gonna meet a girl that’s new to your school are you gonna trust her/him easily? Althea Wilde was bitching with her but the other day she was given a gold card thing to enter their dorm. Then talk to her like they’re some kind of good friends? Uhm. Am I missing out something?

The characters were entertaining, especially the Golden. Nikolai’s family owns Europe and half of South America. Althea Wilde is a model and her twin Tennyson Wilde is the “worst person in the planet.” And of course, Sam Spencer.

“They’re Golden,” said Hannah. “Their lives are golden, everything about them is golden.”

“And that’s Tennyson Wilde, of course,” said Hannah. “He’s the actual worst person on the planet. He makes Althea Wilde look like a cuddle bunny. He is like, if Hitler had a baby with Voldemort, that baby would be like, ‘Hold up there, buddy, keep me away from this guy. He is too evil for me.’ I am not even kidding. You want to stay away from Tennyson Wilde. He is not someone you want to mess with. I don’t even know if he’s human.”

Lucy is a brave character. (WOW. I did not hate the protagonist this time, not like the other books. *coughs* ) Even if she was bullied, she doesn’t cry or whatsoever. Instead she always think positive. Plus she also loves foods. However, I can’t connect with her.

“Think about the free food,” I said to my reflection as I tightened my ponytail and straightened my glasses. “Even if rich people are creepy and weird, it’s worth it for the food.”

Other NEGATIVES:
-There was no real actions. I WAS WAITING FOR IT UGH.
-The setting was not explained well.
-There was no explanation with the school history.

The writing style was so articulate. It was straight to the point and doesn’t include “oh so hard and deep words.” Also there were some Harry Potter references here which I enjoyed. Overall, this was a fun read and if you currently have a reading slump this might shoo it away. I’d recommend this to readers who wants to read a light and short book.

Untitled3

4

Untitled5

494b8-anita2boh

Anita likes dogs, naps, food, and Japanese idol group Arashi. Everything else can be improved when combined with these four things. After several years in the warm, comforting cocoon of fandom, Anita has decided to see what’sup with this real world she’s heard about. Judgement is deserved until more information can be gathered. Anita lives with a grumpy beagle who bosses her around terribly, and won’t even snuggle.

ricah

2 Replies to “BOOK REVIEW: THE TRUTH SPELL (WEREWOLF HIGH #1) BY ANITA OH”

Leave a Reply

