BOOK REVIEW: DEFECTS ( THE REVERIANS #1) BY SARAH NOFFKE

DEFECTS

Title: Defects

Author: Sarah Noffke

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Format: ebook

Pages: 224 pages

ISBN: 1515193217

ISBN13: 9781515193210

Published: August 6, 2015

Publisher:  CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

synopsis

In the happy, clean community of Austin Valley, everything appears to be perfect. Seventeen-year-old Em Fuller, however, fears something is askew. Em is one of the new generation of Dream Travelers. For some reason, the gods have not seen fit to gift all of them with their expected special abilities.
Em is a Defect—one of the unfortunate Dream Travelers not gifted with a psychic power. Desperate to do whatever it takes to earn her gift, she endures painful daily injections along with commands from her overbearing, loveless father. One of the few bright spots in her life is the return of a friend she had thought dead—but with his return comes the knowledge of a shocking, unforgivable truth. The society Em thought was protecting her has actually been betraying her, but she has no idea how to break away from its authority without hurting everyone she loves.

bookreview

* I received a free ebook copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review. All my opinion. *

Guess what? Another fantasy book again! It’s my favorite genre so I’M NOT GONNA STOP READING FANTASY BOOKS. Confession: I haven’t read any popular fantasy books, well except for City of Bones and PJO so my new year’s resolution would be reading more popular fantasy books!!

Defects has a fresh topic for me since it’s all about Dream Travel. I haven’t read any books with topics like this but that’s what I love! I love reading books that has some topics that I’m not used to. Austin Valley is where Dream Travelers live. In this book we are following Em’s life. Em is a defect, defects are dream travelers who doesn’t have psychic powers. Defects need to undergo injections everyday, these injections can help defects to develop and use their gifts/ psychic powers.

Em’s parents are heartless, especially her father. They are ashamed with Em because she doesn’t have any gift. I HATE THEM. Parents who are ashamed with their OWN daughter? Heck, they don’t even feel guilty. Em’s dad is like her boss. Her father talks about political things always like do this and do that. Of course, Em follows her father. Especially her father is well known in Austin Valley. Oh and add her bitchy sister-dee. Dee uses her gift with pride. She’s like rubbing it on Em’s face. It’s like she wants to say that: ” Hey Em, see my gift? Well be jealous because you don’t have one.” Is that how elder sister should act? NO. Well atleast she have a younger sister and a grandma or what she calls Tutu, who acts nice to her. Her younger sister-Nona is also a defect. What I love about Nona, is she helps her sister and cover her up when she dream travel even if it’s not allowed ( Em can only dream travel every Thursday.) I think for all the gifts that were included to this book, I’ve got to say her grandma’s gift is so cool. Her grandma can see dead people.

Even with the blanket tightly wrapped around my shoulders I’m still shivering. In June. Furiously I rub my hands together, blow my hot breath into them.
“Child, you’re sitting on a spirit,” my tutu says, trudging through the living room on her way to the dining area. Her cane knocks against the wood floor with each step. “Move to the chair and you’d be warmer.”
“Which ghost is it?”
“Ronald,” Tutu says, leaning on her cane, her shoulders rounded.

Rogue-Em-Zack
Rogue and Zack made a good role with the story. They’re both Em’s friends but there’s a love triangle going on. At first I really ship with Zack and Em then I changed to team Em and Rogue. Don’t judge me, they’re just so cute and adorable 😛

Rogue nods, seeming to remember how stupid it is that family relationships are arranged for political reasons in Austin Valley. “Well, if the idea of that date came as a shock, then you probably don’t realize I’ve liked you since I could walk.”

“I kid about a lot of things, but how I feel about Em Fuller isn’t one of them.”

The plot is full of amazingness ( is this even a word? hahaha) and awesomeness. There were some twists and revelations that I did not see coming but it wasn’t mind blowing. This book was almossssssstttttttt added to my favorites but I was looking for more details. I was looking for more answers. I’m not going to put my unanswered questions in my review since it will be a spoiler. )

 

AND if you have any fantasy book recommendations. Comment down below 🙂

rating

FINALFINAL 4 STARS

ricah

2 Replies to “BOOK REVIEW: DEFECTS ( THE REVERIANS #1) BY SARAH NOFFKE”

Leave a Reply

