BOOK REVIEW: I Wish For You by Camilla Isley

I wish for you

Title: I Wish for You

Author: Camilla Isley

Genre: Chick Lit, Romance, Contemporary

Format: ebook

Pages: 273

ASIN: B010MCMRQ0

Published: July 23, 2015

Publisher: Pink Bloom Press

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

synopsis

If all your wishes could suddenly come true, what would you do?
A year ago when the love of her life dumped her for no apparent reason, Ally thought she had hit rock bottom. But now that she has seen him with another woman, and one she knows only too well, her life seems to have reached a whole new level of low.
Yet, when she stumbles across an ancient object infused with magical powers and a stranger with a dark past appears out of nowhere promising to grant all her wishes, she finds herself hoping again.
Suddenly Ally’s life is turned upside down; she has a mystery to solve, a rival to beat, a millenarian curse to break, and well, she wants to have some fun playing with her new “gifts”…
But can she wish her way to happily ever after?

bookreview

*I received a free copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review. *

This is the first book by Camilla Isley that I read and it did not disappoint me.I love it. She did well for a debut novel.

*slow claps*

James broke up with Ally for no reason but after a year Ally can’t still move on. Especially when he saw him with her co-worker. While she was out shopping with her mother at the flea market, she saw a vintage coffer and out of nowhere an old lady said that she was “chosen” and she can get it for free but instead she ran away. When she arrived home she saw the coffer in her bag. Then she touched something with the coffer that made a man appear. His name is Arthur but Ally calls her “genie” and he can grant 5 wishes.

I like the writing style but I have some problems with it. There were some parts that are explained and narrated so much, that makes the book a bit boring. In other words the writing was not straight to the point.

The characters are easy to like with their attitudes but except for Ally. I have a love/hate with her. Ally is a kind woman but I hate most of her parts. She’s a brat and selfish. She doesn’t care what others feel with her choices. She’s sarcastic and I like it but sometimes she uses it too much that always turns out irritating. Arthur on the other hand is a funny character. Arthur was cursed hundreds of years ago and he doesn’t know much with the present time, he doesn’t even know what a shower is. I didn’t love nor hate the relationship with Ally and Arthur. Sometimes it’s sweet, sometimes it’s not. There’s a love-hate relationship going on with them which irritates me. I can’t believe that with their love/hate relationship they end up close with each other.

While reading this one, you will know what happens next since the story is cliché, except for the 5 wishes part but I end up loving it. If your looking for some romantic comedy book, pick up this one and read it.

rating

FINALFINAL 4 STARS.jpg

ricah

2 Replies to “BOOK REVIEW: I Wish For You by Camilla Isley”

Leave a Reply

