BOOK REVIEW: Unborn by Daniel Gage

26228195

Title: Unborn

Author: Daniel Gage

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Format: epub

Pages: 252 pages

ISBN: 9781939206

Published: August 15, 2015

Publisher: Vanquish Books

Amazon | Goodreads

synopsis

“It’s nothing personal. You’re just part of the transaction.”

Cameron Briggs always wondered what the strange birthmark on his shoulder meant. For his entire life, it seemed he was never meant to be anything special, that is, until the day it happened. Something dormant inside of him awoke.

In the near future, birthright theft is on the rise, a vast network of dealers offering desperate buyers the chance to steal a more desirable next life. Their power and influence is absolute, with little standing in their way. However, unexpected anomalies in the process endow unique abilities to their victims who, once identified, are offered one chance – to save our world or destroy it, one Unborn child at a time.

With the truth shrouded in conspiracy, Emma Jennings, a troubled but strong-minded young agent with a defiant reputation, is determined to prove these crimes exist. But in order to accomplish her goal, she’ll need to find the one victim who can turn the tide of her war.

bookreview

I received an epub copy from Rachel and Vanquish Books in exchange for an honest book review. This does not affect my reviews. This is all my opinion.

I fished reading Bound by Duty so I was scrolling for more books to read and I stopped by this one. The synopsis is intriguing but I don’t know if I’m gonna love it since I barely read science fiction books. Just by looking by the cover, it’s like tempting you to read it.

DEALERS? UNBORN? BENEFACTORS? DEALER X? SECOND LIFE DEALING? BIRTHRIGHT THEFT? SHIFTERS?

The story started really confusing and boring. While reading I had to highlight the lines, add bookmarks or notes. When I encounter words or persons that I don’t know, I need to go back to a couple of pages and search my highlights. I planned to DNF this book but I still continued to read it and I’m glad I did it.

The story began with a setting where the dealer is helping a man named Bernard with the second life dealing. There’s also an organization who prevents this “second life dealing” and Emma is part of it. Emma Jennings is an agent. Cameron Briggs is a construction worker.  He has a sanskrit birthmark and he doesn’t know what it means. As I was starting to read this I already know that Cameron is an unborn, since it’s pretty obvious. Dealer X’ identity is unknown. He have a lot of clients and that includes Alexandre, who is a benefactor. Alexandre is suffering with a bad condition because of his Unborn. When the Unborn does good deeds, bad things will happen to the Benefactor.

I love Cam’s character because eventhough he hates his life he continues to live and deal with it, his relationship with his mom is sweet. Emma on the other hand is a strong person. What she starts, she wants to finish. The plot is amazing. Dealer X played a good role as an antagonist. However, some of the informations are not explained completely. It’s like there’s some holes in it. Overall, I love it and i can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

rating

4stars.jpg

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

daniel gage
DANIEL GAGE

Growing up in a small mountain town, Daniel Gage never saw a television until he was a teenager. Instead he locked himself in his father’s library and explored the engines of his imagination.

 

Today he loves in Arizona, and when he’s not watching his very big television, rebuilding a computer, or wagering life and limb, he locks himself in his own library to write science fiction.

ab3b9b9d2c6fb5e055b46db78ada8ce5.jpg

Leave a Reply

