BOOK REVIEW: Bound By Duty by Stormy Smith

21957948

Title: Bound by Duty

Author: Stormy Smith

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Format: Kindle

Pages: 390 pages

ISBN: 0692259015

Published: July 24, 2014

Publisher: Perfect Storm Publishing, LLC

synopsis

Amelia grew up in a world of half-truths. She knows she’s an Elder but has no idea what that means. Her father reminds her daily that she must maintain control but he refuses to explain why. Even worse, she’s betrothed to the prince of the Immortals and she doesn’t even know his name.

Finally breaking free to live a few normal years at a community college, the last thing Amelia expects is to find her best friend in a cheeky Southern girl and to fall for a self-assured human who sees her for who she is and not what she’ll be.

As she learns more about herself, Amelia realizes the line between love and duty is a thin one. As her power continues to increase exponentially and her questions are slowly answered, Amelia must make the ultimate choice. The question is, will her head or her heart win the battle?

Bound by Duty is free on all e-book retailers

bookreview

*Thank you Netgalley for approving my request in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my reviews. This is all my opinion. *

Bound by Duty started pretty good. I requested for this since the cover is so pretty and it took my attention. I know we should not judge a book by it’s cover but I just can’t help it. Who doesn’t love a pretty cover? The synopsis also chants at me like: PLEASE READ ME. So of course, I decided to read this. Plus, it’s a fantasy book, which turned me on.

Amelia is an Elder. Bound by Duty follows Amelia’s journey as she discovers what is the meaning of being an Elder. She lives with her cheeky Southern Girl friend and later on she finds herself being inlove with a human. Now she must choose duty or love.

Amelia is a great heroine but as I continue reading, I got confused. It’s like in every chapter there’s a secret. Well I love mystery, but not this type. She’s really naive and stupid. (sorry not sorry but this is my opinion) She do things without planning or knowing what are the circumstances. She acts childish. I can’t connect with Amelia. I don’t care what happens to her. I’m not scared if something happens to her. I’m not nervous with the revelations. It didn’t shocked me.

One thing I really hate is the INSTA-LOVE. It didn’t develop slowly, like the romance going on is a rush. As they exchange sweet talks I didn’t feel anything. Nah, I DID NOT SHIP IT. NOT MY OTP. SORRY.

For me, half of the book is boring. I slept while reading this more than two times. I always put this off. That’s pretty much the reason why I’m so slow with the progress. The revelations again did not affect me in any ways but atleast it did not bored me and din’t sleep.

The plot is okay. I still don’t know if I’m gonna continue reading the series but it’s worth a shot.

rating

2stars

Leave a Reply

