BOOK REVIEW: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

15726915

Title: Faking Normal

Author: Courtney C. Stevens

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 336 pages

ISBN: 0062245384

Published: February 25, 2014

Publisher: HarperTeen

synopsis

An edgy, realistic, and utterly captivating novel from an exciting new voice in teen fiction.

Alexi Littrell hasn’t told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

When Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend in “the Kool-Aid Kid,” who has secrets of his own. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally face the truth.

A searing, poignant book, Faking Normal is the extraordinary debut novel from an exciting new author-Courtney C. Stevens.

bookreview

“If only I could make the outside hurt me than the inside.”

To be honest, If I haven’t read the synopsis of this book i will not buy it. I wasn’t planning to read this book this year but I was staring at my bookshelf and decided to read this since I’m craving for sad books because I want to cry (really). I don’t always read books with serious problems because it may turn out bad but Courtney Stevens handled it perfectly. 

Black funeral dress. Black heels. Black headband in my hair. Death has a style all it’s own. I’m glad I don’t have to wear it very often.

The first paragraph made me curious. While reading the first paragraph I know I’m gonna love it (since black is also my fav color). You know you love a book if it makes you a wreck. While eating, sitting, and watching, I can’t stop thinking of this. Worst is, I finished reading this at school. I was sobbing while reading. I’m emotionally and physically unstable. It makes me really angry because while reading this my classmates was looking at me and thinking like I’m stupid and crazy, ugh MUNDANE FOOLS.

Alexi Littrell started as a mess. She hides a very dark secret which nobody knows even her family. She’s traumatized because of what happened to her during summer. When she thinks of it she scratches the back of her neck. Bodee Lennox is the kool-aid boy (yep he always change his hair color). He lives next door and he’s very silent. He thinks before he speaks. Alexi and Bodee understands each other with the tragedies they face.

“There are no words to the music, and that makes me sad. Every song deserves lyrics. Deserves a story to tell.”

At first, I got annoyed and irritated because she didn’t tell her story but as I continue to read I can clearly understand her reason. She blames herself for what happened. She’s scared to tell her parents because they might not believe her. However, Alexi helps Bodee to deal up with her past. Bodee helps Alexi to speak up. I find this really cute. There’s no insta-love happening. Their relationship started slowly and explained very well.

“I know, but how long can I love this guy?”                                                

“Indefinitely,” he says with a smile, and presses his thumb against my lips and the touches it to my forehead. “My mom used to do that with me,” he explains. “And at night, before I’d leave for the tent, she’d hold her thumb up against the kitchen window until I was out of sight. It means….”                                                                                                        

I realize I’m holding my breath as I wait for him to finish his sentence.  

” I won’t let anyone hurt you.”                                                                      

 If a heart can smile, mine does.”                                                                

 “Bodee, thanks,” I say, thought I know he doesn’t need it.  “I’m sorry you lost her.”                                                                                                  

 “At least I found you,” he says. 

One thing you will really love with the characters in here is Captain Lyric. He writes the certain parts of the lyrics for Alexi and puts it on her chair. Alexi also replies by writing a certain parts of the lyrics.

My reaction with Captain Lyric and Alexi:

giphy (4)

The plot is perfect. The relationships and developments build up slowly in a good way. It make you intrigued with the first chapters. Alexi’s secret is revealed so fast but still, it makes you thrilled to know who is the one who did it. I smiled. I giggled. I shouted. I cried. As Alexi explains what really happened to her that made me cry during class hours. Ugh, I’m craving for sad books but not this sad!

giphy (1)

Overall, I LOVE it so much. This book made me unstable. Physically and emotionally. I think I will not easily forget this book. You made me cry so much Courtney C. Stevens. It gave me so many emotions. This is now added with my favorites. I highly recommend this book. GO READ IT.

rating

5stars

Leave a Reply

